It can only get worse from here…

It was a glorious day in baseball yesterday. Unfortunately, all that day has left me with is a feeling that things can only get worse from here.

First, it was a fiesta on my fantasy team. CC Sabathia made one of his best starts of the year, holding the Twins to 1 run and 2 hits in 7 innings. This more than made up for Johnny Cueto’s disastrous outing yesterday (see my post from yesterday).

 

Also, Paul Konerko, previously just a utility player for my team, really came through after my decision to start him: He hit 3 homers!

In Boston, Josh Beckett followed up a brilliant performance by the A’s rookie pitcher Brett Anderson with a great outing, getting his 10th win on the year.
Josh Beckett oppressed the A's for 6 2/3 innings, allowing six hits and a walk and striking out four on his way to his 10th victory, tied for tops in the American League. Take a look at the game photos of this Fenway Park win for the Sox.(. Jason Bay also looked back to form as he went 2-3 with a homerun in the 2nd inning. Is his weeklong slump over? Let’s hope so…

Jason Bay connected for a first inning solo home run, his 20th of the season.
And finally, in New York, the one thing that could brighten the mood as the Mets lost once again (yeah, I sort of like the Mets) was the sight of this guy getting ejected:

https://i0.wp.com/www.tiricosuave.com/images/manny_steadfast.jpg


(that really looks like a mug shot, doesn’t it?)

So why do I keep getting the feeling that after this great night in baseball, things are only going to get worse from here?

Well, my fantasy team certainly hasn’t looked like it did last night before this season. CC has been good, but there is still much room for improvement. Konerko has also had a pretty good season, but a 3 homer night is rare and won’t likely happen again for him this season. I guess, on the bright side, Johnny Cueto can only get better from here!

For the Red Sox, it doesn’t look as much like things will get worse. We haven’t been amazing lately, but we are still the best team in the AL and things are still fine. Jason Bay has certainly been in a slump lately, and he won’t get much rest and relaxation during the All Star break. Let’s just hope we can hang onto this division lead and keep the pace in the second half of the season.

So, maybe I exaggerated a bit. I don’t know, can things get any worse with Manny?

 
15 comments

  1. golfyinbg

    Manny is out of control. Thanks for the comment on my blog. I will definitely be checking your blog.

  2. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    How could I forget! Nice job on the win.
    Thanks for the comment.

    -http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  3. gregemb

    Do you have mixed feelings about having Sabathia on your fantasy team, and being a Red Sox fan? That’s one reason I stopped playing fantasy, it splits your allegiances.

  4. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    Gregemb-
    Yeah, I’ve felt conflicted about it on occasion. It is really tough when your fantasy players need to do well against your favorite team. Before I started fantasy I thought that it wouldn’t be hard for me to root for my favorite team in that situation, but it really isn’t so easy… I still do enjoy fantasy though

    -http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  5. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    Jeff-
    Yeah, Lol not sure when that’s from, I think it was earlier this season. It looks like he’s had a long night…

    -http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  6. orangebirds

    Hey thanks, everyone please check out my blog it is Birdland Blog, and I made a new post, “Three of a kind”
    -O’s

  7. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    Right on, Kaybee. Apparently he has recently started showing more aggression in his approach to playing the game (heard this from the Boston Globe). APparently he’s trying harder… all I can say is it won’t last Dodger’s fans…
    Thanks for commenting.

    -http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

